Tuesday, 26 March 2013

Scenes from The Nickelodeon’s 26th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards

Mega-stars including Katy Perry, Johnny Depp, One Direction, Selena Gomez, Dwayne Johnson and Kristen Stewart reigned as this year’s favourites, winning top honours at Nickelodeon’s 26th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards on Saturday 23 March.

Hosted by the biggest kid in Hollywood, Josh Duhamel, the awards were broadcast from the Galen Center at USC in Los Angeles where kids honoured their favourites from the worlds of film, music, sports and television.

This year, a record-breaking 387 million votes were cast around the world in 22 categories.

In the spirit of the star-studded slimefest, Duhamel kicked off the celebration by singing a special Kids’ Choice Awards version of Pitbull’s smash hit “Don't Stop the Party”, as he made his way from the dressing room to the main stage.

Experiencing a series of random celebrity encounters along the way, Duhamel thumb wrestled with Mike “The Miz” Mizanin, was tackled by Jerry Trainor dressed as a yeti, wore the same dress as Fergie, scatted with Steven Tyler and played an elaborate game of rock-paper-scissors with Megan Fox, only to be transformed into Pitbull himself as he reached the stage.

For the first time ever, a special camera gave the fans a 360-degree view of all the action on stage. Also a first for the messfest, Nickelodeon debuted the “Kids’ Choice Mustache Cam”, a take on the popular “kissing cam”, which featured kids and celebs including Miranda Cosgrove, Debby Ryan and Bridgit Mendler wearing fake funny mustaches, with Duhamel singling out Judd Apatow for having the best real mustache.

In a display of his athletic prowess, Duhamel hit the stage wearing Dwight Howard's LA Lakers uniform and challenged Howard to a "Slime Dunk" contest with the winner,Howard, getting a face full of the green goo.

With the wave of a magic wand, Sandra Bullock and Neil Patrick Harris attempted to create a slime-free zone, but their plan backfired and the two were honoured with a dual sliming at the presenters podium.

Duhamel teamed up with Nick Cannon for the Tandem Buttkicking Zipline Sumo Spectacular in a slime-tastic finale thanks to blimp recipient Dwayne Johnson, but Josh Hutcherson and Amanda Seyfried took the prize for the most epic sliming on the show.

In their first-ever live performances at the KCAs, multi-talented global superstars Pitbull, Grammy Award-winning vocalist Christina Aguilera, and Ke$haignited the stage. In addition to “Don’t Stop the Party”, Pitbull performed his explosive hit “Feel This Moment” with Aguilera and a crew of mini lookalike dancers, and found himself drenched by a massive slime fountain at the end of the song.

Ke$ha rocked the stage amid bubbles, confetti and disco balls, with a medley of “We R Who We R” and her new single “C’Mon”. Not to be outdone, Duhamel, decked out in a milkshake costume, got his groove on with the kids in the audience during a special “Kids’ Choice Shake” dance stunt.

Orange blimps were presented to Johnny Depp for Favourite Movie Actor; Kristen Stewart for Favourite Movie Actress and Favourite Female Buttkicker;The Hunger Games for Favourite Movie and Wreck-It Ralph for Favourite Animated Movie.

Dwayne Johnson won top honours for Favourite Male Buttkicker and Adam Sandler took home the blimp for Favourite Voice from an Animated Movie for his role of Dracula in Hotel Transylvania.

In the television categories, Favourite TV Show went to Victorious; Favourite Reality Show to Wipeout; Favourite Cartoon to SpongeBob SquarePants; Favourite TV Actor to Ross Lynch and Favourite TV Actress to Selena Gomez.

In music, top honours went to Katy Perry for Favourite Female Singer; Justin Bieberfor Favourite Male Singer and One Direction nabbed Favourite Music Group and Favourite Song.

Most valuable players LeBron James and Danica Patrick won for Favourite Male Athlete and Favourite Female Athlete, respectively. The Hunger Games series garnered Favourite Book; Temple Run won Favourite App and Just Dance 4 won for Favourite Videogame.

The star-studded telecast featured additional celebrity participants, including: Steve Carell, Kristen Wiig, Jaden Smith, Lucy Hale, Kaley Cuoco,Darren Criss, Big Time Rush, Cory Monteith, Jennette McCurdy, Ariana Grande, Sofia Grace and Rosie, Gabby Douglas, Zachary Gordon, Jessica Alba, Kevin Hart, Ashley Tisdale, Lucas Cruikshank, Scott Baio and the cast of See Dad Run, Rico Rodriguez and many others. "Nothing was off-limits for first-time Kids' Choice Awards host Josh Duhamel, from ziplining across the arena to donning a milkshake costume andSpongeBob's square pants.

This year's host took funny to an entirely new level," said Russell Hicks, President, Content Development and Production, Nickelodeon.