Tuesday, 16 October 2012


After a tough competition across all sub-Saharan Africa, MTV today announced that Nigerian superstar D’BANJ has been named Best African Act of the “2012 MTV EMA,” having received the most votes from fans across sub-Saharan Africa.

Hosted by supermodel, entrepreneur and hometown girl Heidi Klum, the 19th annual awards show will broadcast live from Frankfurt’s historic Festhalle on Sunday 11 November at 22:00 CAT on MTV (DStv Channel 130).

D’banj has previously won Best African Act at the 2007 MTV EMA, Artist of the Year at both the 2008 and 2009 MTV Africa Music Awards, and Best International Act: Africa at the 2011 BET Awards.

“I am once again humbled by the support that you have all shown me. You guys have made me all i am, and i want to thank my loyal fans who voted me to win EMA from the bottom of my heart. Eja Nla is grateful Oluwa is involved! Ooossshhheee!” D’banj said after the announcement.

D’BANJ will now vie against India’s Alobo Naga & the Band and Ahmed Soultan from the Middle East for the chance to represent the region in the Worldwide Act category, which celebrates the range and breadth of all the music that MTV has to offer by showcasing incredible artists from all parts of the world. From now until 30 October, fans will be able to vote for their favorite regional act on www.mtvema.com.

The representative for the Africa/India/Middle East region will be announced on Tuesday 30 October, along with the other regional winners from Europe, Latin America, North America and Asia Pacific.  These five regional nominees will then battle for votes for the “Worldwide Act” distinction, and the winner will be named at the show in Frankfurt.

Taylor Swift, Muse, No Doubt, Carly Rae Jepsen, fun. and Rita Ora are confirmed to perform at the “2012 MTV EMA.” MTV will announce additional EMA performers and presenters at a later date. As previously announced, Rihanna and Taylor Swift top the list of the “2012 MTV EMA” nominees with six and five nods, respectively, with Justin Bieber and Katy Perry following closely behind with four nominations each. Lady Gaga, Lana Del Rey, Nicki Minaj, Carly Rae Jepsen, fun., Jay Z and Kanye West each received three EMA nominations, while Green Day, Gotye, Pitbull, Flo Rida, Rita Ora, Muse, Arctic Monkeys, Jack White and One Direction are up for two awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment