Friday, 6 May 2011


The Groove Awards lived up to its billing of celebrating gospel talent in style. On Saturday (April 30), all the main players in the industry converged at the KICC in Nairobi to honour the best in gospel music.
At the event, Daddy Owen became the first artiste in Kenya’s history of music awards to hand over an award he won fairly to a fellow artiste, Juliani.
The singer, popularly known as the King of Kapungala, described Juliani as an artiste who has been in the game for long and is yet to be recognised.
Daddy Owen handed over the most coveted award of the night, Male Artiste of the Year, in the 6th annual Groove Awards ceremony.

This was Daddy Owen's fourth award in the evening after scooping three other awards for his collaborative single Saluti that features other acts like Esther Wahome, Emmy Kosgei and Kambua. The awards are Collabo of the Year, Song of the Year and Video of the Year. Last year, Daddy Owen won in a record six categories.
The dedication from Daddy Owen was not the only win for Juliani. He also scooped the Hip Hop Song of the Year award for his hit Hello. The Female Artiste of the Year title went to a very surprised Alice Kamande.
This year’s Groove also brought to the limelight new voices and faces like Marvelous who won the New Artiste of the Year. The Eastern song of the Year award went to John Mbaka for Mivango Ya Amaaitha; Western Song of the Year - Linet Webukhulu for her song Vuyanzi; Rift Valley Song of the Year - Emily Chebet for her song Chesireret; Central Song of the Year - Tigana na Andu by Dennis Mutara and Nyanza Song Of The Year Award title was won by Carol Nyakwaka for the song Owinjore Gi Pako.

Other winners who were awarded for their fortitude include the legendary Mary Atieno Ominde who was awarded the Outstanding Contributor Award; Rose Muhando for the Skiza Ring Back Tone of the Year and Eunice Njeri took home the special award for Song Writer of the Year.
Other categories were DJ of the Year which went to DJ Sadiq who together with Alemba scooped the Reggae/Ragga Song of the Year for their musical collaboration titled Praise Him. BMF walked away with Group of the Year, Dr Eddie was named the Audio Producer of the Year while J Blessing was Video Producer of the Year.

Singer General Mannaseh Mathiang proved won the Artiste of the Year Southern Sudan title while Exodus scooped the Ugandan Artiste of the Year for the second year running. Paul Mwai won in the Album of the Year and Worship Song of the Year categories.

Other nominees who won awards include Saints (Dance Group of the Year), Marion Shako (Pwani Song Of Year), Syombua Wa Mwele of Musyi FM (Radio Presenter of the Year), Blessed Sisters (Artiste of the Year Rwanda) and Christina Shusho (Tanzanian Artiste of the Year).


No comments:

Post a Comment