Wednesday, 9 July 2014

These Are The Stars Of Coke Studio Season 2

The stars of the second season of Coke Studio were unveiled today.

This season promises to take the show to a new level with Mozambique joining the bandwagon to bring more diversity into the production.

The one-of-a-kind teen centric music show brings together artists from different genres and regions to create a modern, unique and authentic African sound.

Popular artistes from Nigeria including Burna Boy, Flavour, Seyi Shay, Chidinma, Phyno, Iyanya and Olamide – together with Waje from last season – will come together to participate in Season Two.

East African artists will include Kenya’s Fena Gitu, Rabbit, Victoria Kimani and Jay A.

Tanzania’s Joh Makini and Shaa will be representing their country while neighboring Uganda will present Navio and Jackie Chandiru as well as Lillian Mbabazi who took part in the maiden season.

Neyma and Jose Valdemiro will represent Mozambique.

“Music is one way Coca-Cola brings Africa together regardless of race, religion, economic status, language or gender. Through Coke Studio, we have the rare opportunity to not only bring Africa’s artists together, but also create a modern sound that will appeal to teens,” said Ahmed Rady, Coca-Cola Central, East and West Africa Business Unit Marketing Director.

“We hope to connect with our teens and provide them with a firsthand unforgettable music experience,” he explained.

Speaking at the contract signing and unveiling session, popular Kenyan musician Rabbit, said that he was excited to be part of the Season 2 show. “It is a privilege for me to be chosen by Coca-Cola to be part of this great music production. I hope to make it worthwhile for both myself and my fans.”

Season One saw 24 artists from 8 countries create over 46 songs. They included Grammy award winners such as Salif Keita from Mali and King Sunny Ade from Nigeria.

Other popular artists who took part were MI, Waje, Jimmy Jatt and Bez from Nigeria; Octopizzo, Miss Karun and Just a Band from Kenya; Hip Hop Pantsula, and Tumi from South Africa; Boddhi Satva from the Central African Republic; Diamond Platinumz and Lady Jaydee from Tanzania; Joel Sebunjo, Qwela and Lillian Mbabazi from Uganda; and the Culture Music Club from Zanzibar.