Thursday, 13 October 2011


Kenyan star athletes will join the list of the 10 male and 10 female candidates that have been selected by an International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) panel of eight experts for the 2011 World Athlete of the Year award winners to be announced on November 12.
Kenya's marathon world record holder Patrick Makau, middle-distance runner David Rudisha and long distance runner Vivian Cheruiyot, are on the shortlist. They are joined by other sprint starts like Usain Bolt and Yohan Blake. At the conclusion of the voting process, three male and three female finalists will be selected and announced by the IAAF. So people star voting…

The candidates are: in alphabetical order
Yohan Blake, Jamaica
Usain Bolt, Jamaica
Mo Farah, Great Britain
Robert Harting, Germany
Kirani James, Grenada
Patrick Makau, Kenya
Koji Murofushi, Japan
David Rudisha, Kenya
Christian Taylor, USA
Jesse Williams, USA

Maria Abakumova, Russia V
alerie Adams, New Zealand
Veronica Campbell Brown, Jamaica
Tatyana Chernova, Russia
Vivian Cheruiyot, Kenya
Anna Chicherova, Russia
Lashinda Demus, USA
Carmelita Jeter, USA