Thursday, 30 June 2011



The idea ‘Berlin meets Nairobi’ was the brainchild of Goethe-Institut Nairobi and electronic music duo Gebrüder Teichmann. It was embodied in a Berlin-Nairobi musical collaboration.


The product of which is a music album that features Kenyan and German artistes. In the Kenyan corner are rappers like Nazizi, Abbas Kubaff, Kimya, Lon Jon, electropop band Just A Band, blind singer/guitarist Michel Ongaro and the Ukoo Flani Mombasa clique.

Abbas Kubaff

Ukoo Flani

From Berlin, Modeselektor, the hyperactive breakbeat-duo, curious electronic producers Gebrüder Teichmann and Jahcoozi, the multicultural star trio composed of Dubstep, Grime Rave and hyper-sonic Electronica.


The group of artistes stayed in an apartment in Nairobi, where everyone in the project worked, performed and lived together in the house the christened Mad House. The result of their hard work is the album BLNRB - Welcome to the Madhouse. It is set for a July 8 release.

Have a look at the tracklist

01. Abbas, Kimya, LJ, Teichmann - Goldbreaks Variation
02. Nazizi, Jahcoozi, Abbas - Madhouse
03. Teichmann, Abbas, Kimya, LJ - Dirty Laundry
04. Jahcoozi, Ukoo Flani - Msoto Millions
05. Necessary Noize, Teichmann - Very Necessary
06. Just a Band, Jahcoozi - Room For Me
07. Jahcoozi, Ukoo Flani, Radi - Ma Bhoom Bhoom Bhoom
08. Teichmann, Alai K - Everyday Without You
09. Teichmann, Ukoo Flani, Dogs - Living Room
10. Modeselektor, Nazizi, Abbas - Monkeyflip
11. Teichmann, Kimya, LJ, Abbas - Goldbreaks
12. Jahcoozi, Little King, Robo - Take It Higher
13. Jahcoozi, Michel Ongaro, Abbas - Kumbuka
14. Teichmann, Ukoo Flani - Richie Interlude
15. Massai Mbilli, Modeselektor, Just a Band - Kibera Benga
16. Just a Band, Jahcoozi, Teichmann, Michel Ongaro - Away
17. Jahcoozi, Ukoo Flani - Zamaney
18. Teichmann, Ukoo Flani - Whateverman Dub

No comments:

Post a Comment