Saturday, 10 April 2010


Finalists in the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2010 Competition were announced Thursday by Joel Kibazo, Chair of the independent judging panel. The competition is now in its 15th year.

This year the competition received entries from 975 journalists from 40 countries throughout the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking Africa.

There are 27 finalists from 15 countries:

* Halima Abdallah Kisule, East African, Uganda
* Kofi Akpabli, freelance for Daily Graphic, Ghana
* Njaka Andriamahery, TV Plus, Madagascar
* Pelu Awofeso, freelance for NEXT on Sunday, Nigeria
* Najlae Benmbarek, 2M TV, Maroc
* Teresa Chirwa, Zodiak Broadcasting Station, Malawi
* DispatchOnline Team, Daily Dispatch, South Africa
* Mustafa Haji Abdinur, co-founder SIMBA Radio, Somalia
* Thanduxolo Jika, Daily Dispatch, South Africa
* Zipporah Karani, KTN, Kenya
* Charles Kariuki, World Vision Kenya for NTV
* Alexandre Lebel Ilboudo, Le Patriote, Côte d’Ivoire
* Lucas Ledwaba, DRUM, South Africa
* Tsitsi Matope, Public Eye, Lesotho
* Emmanuel Mayah, Daily Sun, Nigeria
* Kassim Mohamed, Star FM, Kenya
* Oarabile Mosikare, Botswana for Mail & Guardian, South Africa
* Francis Mugo Mwangi, freelance for NTV, Kenya
* Boniface Mwangi, freelance for The Star, Kenya

* Rose Ramsay, eNews, South Africa
* Sam Rogers,, South Africa
* Sergio José Sitoe, Rede de Comuniação Miramar, Moçambique
* Leon Ssenyange, NTV, Uganda
* Lamia Tagzout, El Watan, Algérie
* Sebastião Vemba, Novo Jornal, Angola
* Kaara Wainaina, NTV, Kenya
* Roseline Wangui, NTV, Kenya

This year the recipient of the Free Press Africa Award is Mustafa Haji Abdinur, co-founder of SIMBA Radio in Mogadishu and founder of Somali Media for Peace and Development (SOMEPED). He is awarded this prize for his work in Somalia including the ‘Peace Journalism’ initiative which he launched with the help of fellow Somali journalists. The Award is also in recognition of all the journalists in Somalia who have put their lives at risk in telling the story.
There are nine journalists who died during 2009 whilst fulfilling their professional duties:
Abdulkhafar Abdulkadir Hasan, freelance
Mohamed Amin Adan Abdulle, Radio Shabelle
Hassan Zubeyr Haji Hassan, Al-Arabiya
Mohamud Mohamed Yusuf, Radio IQK
Mukhtar Mohamed Hirabe, Radio Shabelle
Nur Muse Hussein, Radio IQK
Abdirisak Mohamed Warsame, Radio Shabelle
Said Tahlil Ahmed, HornAfrik
Hassan Mayow Hassan, Radio Shabelle

The winners of the competition will be announced at an Award Ceremony and Gala Evening in Kampala, Uganda on Saturday 29th May 2010.

The hosts for the evening will be Isha Sesay, presenter of CNN International’s weekly programme ‘Inside Africa’ and Dr Ronnie Mich Egwang, a well-known Ugandan presenter.

The independent judging panel, chaired by Joel Kibazo, journalist and media consultant, includes: Ikechukwu Amaechi, Editor, Daily Independent, Nigeria; Jean-Paul Gérouard, Deputy Editor-in-Chief, France 3 TV; Ferial Haffajee, Editor-in-Chief, City Press, South Africa; Arlindo Lopes, Secretary General, Southern African Broadcasting Association; José Luís Mendonça, Press Counsellor, Angolan Permanent Delegation to UNESCO; Zipporah Musau, Managing Editor, Magazines, The Standard Group Ltd, Kenya; Kim Norgaard, CNN Bureau Chief, South Africa.

The prestigious sponsors include: Coca-Cola Africa; Ecobank, IPP Media, Tanzania; Kampala Serena Hotel; Merck Sharp & Dohme (MSD); NN24 Nigeria; Research In Motion (RIM), the company behind the BlackBerry solution; Safebond Africa Ltd and A24 Media.